Open Tech Support
Open 

Tech Support Community
Back to HomeCommunityReviewsGuidesDownloadsLinkageMarketplaceContact Us

 »  Forum Navigation

Home
Post a Question
About Our Site
Support Our Site

What is this site?
Who are we?

Tolitz.Com - The Cynic Eye of the Third World Guy

Enhanced with Snapshots

 

 »  Advertisement


Go Back   Open Tech Support Community > SUPPORT FORUMS > Consumer Reports




Reply

 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-24-2005, 03:37 PM   #1 (permalink)

Super Freak
 
INeedHelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,034


Website Selling Softwares at OEM Price, a Scam?

http://www.cds-for-you.com/

The above website is selling softwares at OEM price, except you wouldn't have to buy any of the computer parts in order to get the OEM price, can they do that? Is it legal? Is it a scam?
INeedHelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-24-2005, 04:04 PM   #2 (permalink)

Cool Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 53


Re: Website Selling Softwares at OEM Price, a Scam?

Don't know about that particular site, but alot of sites sell OEM without the hardware. Whether it's legal or not is probably a revolving door issue, since whoever is selling it probably didn't agree with anyone not to sell it without hardware. I recently bought OEM xp from an advertisement on a microsoft site without hardware. It was advertised as being either HP or Dell. Oft times, OEM software may be a slightly disabled version of a software program. Or is a version older than current. All the time, you get no support from the manufacturer. Usually it's a good deal.
hwm54112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 11:55 AM   #3 (permalink)

Super Freak
 
INeedHelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,034


Re: Website Selling Softwares at OEM Price, a Scam?

Yes, the website did mention that their software comes with no boxset, no manual, no Certificate of Authencity, and no support from the manufactures. However that's not what worries me since we all call Microsoft when our Windows crashes right? /sarcasm What worries me is whether the website itself is authentic in that will I get into a legal battle over purchasing OEM products without the hardware? I see that you have given extensive information on what you know regarding this issue so I greatly appreciate it, thanks.
INeedHelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 05:28 AM   #4 (permalink)

I AM OTS
 
redwench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: lurking in the woods
Posts: 14,706


Re: Website Selling Softwares at OEM Price, a Scam?

youre getting no coa, so you essentially have only limited updates from ms, and no support. youre purchasing backup software.

-----------------------------
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
- Benjamin Franklin,
Historical Review of Pennsylvania, 1759.
................................
Is it just me, or does it feel like this site would be loading faster if I was yelling "1011010011010101", into a cup/string phone?
redwench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 09:20 PM   #5 (permalink)

i didn't do it!
 
Cant Stop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: orlando,FL
Posts: 195


Re: Website Selling Softwares at OEM Price, a Scam?

dont do it unless you damaged your original retail software is my personal opinion.

im tired of the crap stuff that you get included with your computer i would rather buy a retail xp and install myself and get the full coverage.

-----------------------------
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe 939 socket mobo
G- Skills 2gx1g pc 3200
amd 64 3500+ venice o.c.'d to 2.4
aspire x super alien
600w psu
hitachi 120gb sata
WD cavier se 16 320g sata
galaxy 9600gt 1g 256 bit
sony dvd-rw unit
xp pro with sp2
X-Fi sound card
sony oem floppy drive
Cant Stop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 09:39 PM   #6 (permalink)

Cool Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 53


Re: Website Selling Softwares at OEM Price, a Scam?

I used it for a repair install of the crap included with the computer (OEM XP), which worked out great because it did not include SP2, which I wasn't prepared to install until I got all the problems fixed caused by malware.
hwm54112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools


Similar Threads

Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new pc Aiden Hardware 7 06-13-2006 09:24 PM
feedback please, first website FAQ lcousins Internet 0 12-20-2005 01:23 AM
game price increase AK47 Console Gaming 25 10-29-2004 01:00 PM
Musicians selling out AK47 General and Off Topic 24 04-16-2003 07:12 AM
Price Comparison in Reality Spider Hardware 4 05-09-2001 05:19 AM







Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2. Copyright © 2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2
Copyright 2000-2008 Open Tech Support.  All Rights Reserved.  Site Design and Development by Tolitz Rosel.