I just got word of a domain register that has ridiculous domain practices. Their name is TotalNIC.
Here's a thread from SitePointForums about them:
http://www.sitepointforums.com/showt...threadid=40708
One message from TotalNIC said because of "upstream" difficulties, it would need the following to transfer a name.
"The domain name or domain names; a copy of the driver's license or picture page from the passport for the Administrative contact; on letterhead, a letter from the Registrant acknowledging the validity of the Administrative claim and; on letterhead, a letter from the Administrative contact asserting that they are the legal representative for the domain name(s). These items must be typewritten, notarized and sent to our CORE offices at Capital Networks, PTY LTD; PO Box 383; Dickson, ACT 2602; Australia. Please note that we have been informed that these requests are legal and will help insure the safety of your domain name, as well as those of our other customers."
Absolutely ridiculous
