|
|
 |
|
|
Pages: 1
support@microsoft.com emails
(Click here to view the original thread with full colors/images)
Posted by: uh...ok
Has anyone else been getting those lately? For the past several weeks I've been getting lots of them that come attached with some .pi file or another. Most of them say "Your details" and then the attached file is your_details.pi. Worse yet, the past two have been "Approved" and "Cool Screensaver".
And it's actually the real address, not the name of the From (as most email programs usually show the name and not the real address), that's "support@microsoft.com".
They're being hacked? Or did someone just find a cool way to mask the sender address?
Posted by: Canis Lupus
Check the email headers ... copy them and paste them here... usually it tells you which server the email was sent from, or sometimes which IP address sent it... it should look like this:
Quote:
Return-path: <>
Envelope-to: contact@mail.com
Delivery-date: Wed, 28 May 2003 16:53:32 -0600
Received: from hanky.panky.com ([123.456.789.1])
by metroid.vosn.net with esmtp (TLSv1ES-CBC3-SHA:168)
(Exim 3.36 #1)
id 19L9nY-0000wW-00
for contact@mail.com; Wed, 28 May 2003 16:53:32 -0600
Received: from root by hanky.panky.com with local (Exim 3.36 #1)
id 19L9o5-0006f7-00
for nobody@hanky.panky.com; Wed, 28 May 2003 15:54:05 -0700
X-Failed-Recipients: mommy@rules.com
From: Mail Delivery System <Mailer-Daemon@hanky.panky.com>
To: nobody@hanky.panky.com
Subject: Mail delivery failed: returning message to sender
Message-Id: <E19L9o5-0006f7-00@hanky.panky.com>
Date: Wed, 28 May 2003 15:54:05 -0700
|
Posted by: Null Actor
There's a virus going around that emails itself as if from MS.
Posted by: TotalRecall
Indeed.
Posted by: uh...ok
Hehe, I don't ever look at the News page. Thanks for the link TR.
Posted by: Canis Lupus
Quote:
Originally posted by uh...ok
Hehe, I don't ever look at the News page.
|
There is a lesson to be learned here somewhere
Posted by: SKYHN
One of these showed up in my box the other day. I had left OE open and I clicked onto it about 5 secs before it checked the mail again and ;poof; one poped up. I quickly deleted it and stood tall in victory.
Posted by: uh...ok
Quote:
Originally posted by Canis Lupus
There is a lesson to be learned here somewhere
|
Eh? A lesson? What's that? 
Regardless, I still have OTS Forums page bookmarked and there's where I go.
EDIT: Whoa, is it just me or is www.opentechsupport.net bouncing everyone to www.opentechsupport.net/forums ?
Posted by: d!g!talhardcore
Quote:
Happened to me too
Posted by: Sops
They are in the process of site maintenance. So everyone is being send to the forum instead of the home page.
|
|
|
|
|