Open Tech Support
Open Tech Support Archives
Back to HomeCommunityReviewsGuidesDownloadsTech LinksMarketplaceContact Us
 »  SITE NAVIGATION
»  OTS Home
»  OTS Forums
»  OTS Archives

»  About our site
»  Search our site
»  Support our site

»  What is this site?
»  Who are we?
 
 
 »  ADVERTISMENT
 
  Pages: 1

What's eBay's policy about *this*?

(Click here to view the original thread with full colors/images)


Posted by: uh...ok



http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...item=3626246138



Posted by: TheeMon

haha



Posted by: redwench

lol

probably a "vote" or "protest" auction. usually linked from one of the discussion boards. check out the hit counter :P



Posted by: uh...ok

Well the hit counter can be accoutned for by the fact that this URL has been passed around many internet websites and chatrooms...



Posted by: redwench

yup. but how did they find it?



Posted by: Gerbilo

my friend showed me that a few days ago, i think the bidding was only in the thousands then, i couldn't quite figure it out.



Posted by: Blackknight

LOL!



Posted by: Tecil

Fark had a link to it a couple days ago.

They are well known for their cascade effect.



Posted by: Bobaroo

Winning bid: US $80,000,100.00

....ummmm



Posted by: Maverick

thats just sad...



Posted by: Basketcase

I hope the guy had to pay, lol.



Posted by: arturo238

There is a posibility that the NewFolder was a code for something else. I mean, who would pay $80,000,100.00 for a desktop folder?



Posted by: redwench

it was a joke listing. "vote" and protest auctions get put up from time to time.

you have to specifically register to bid on legitimate high price items, along with proof of ability to pay. those bidders didnt do that, im sure :P



Posted by: Rayneeday

*Lo, the ebay goddess has spoken*


Wench



Posted by: uh...ok

What about the people who bid $0-$3000?

Oh wait you mean people who voted the really high numbers had to have had some kind of authentication to do it, and the fact that they did it (supposedly without authentication) means that it's a bogus auction.



Posted by: redwench

come on, does it even look like a serious auction?



Posted by: chaosisreality

probably a joke account, or a hacked account... but you'd think e-bay monitoring would spot and remove that?



Posted by: redwench

ebay monitoring?

*shrieks with laughter*



Posted by: chaosisreality

hey, even if it ain't a reality they claim it...



Posted by: N.W.A_Kid

heh...ebay monitoring *chuckles, then falls on floor laughing*



Posted by: slugo3

if the item sells then ebay gets a fee if the buyer pays you or not so putting up items like this could backfire if you have to pay a fee on a high amount.
heres another one, hard feel sorry for anyone who falls for this stuff lol.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...item=2933408411



Posted by: Gerbilo

Hey, stop making fun of what i buy on ebay!! heh

What was it, a few months ago there was a paint roller with eyes on it, sold for $33 or so...



Posted by: redwench

actually, the final value fees are credited back to the seller if the transaction doesnt go through. he would only pay the listing fees, which would be based on the starting price.

falls for what? its another joke listing. the scam listings are much better, i assure you.



Posted by: slugo3

Quote:

Originally posted by redwench
actually, the final value fees are credited back to the seller if the transaction doesnt go through. he would only pay the listing fees, which would be based on the starting price.

falls for what? its another joke listing. the scam listings are much better, i assure you.


actually you get billed the fee automaticly and you can "request" the fee be refunded and it takes a couple of weeks.
I think you give people too much credit to assume they know its a joke, there are people that are really that stupid.



 
Copyright 2000-2008 Open Tech Support.  All Rights Reserved.  Site Design and Development by Tolitz Rosel.